Addiction

Just attended a panel discussion on drug addiction and the word ‘addiction’ caught my attention…could not get that out of my head…the word has certain depth…mostly used in bad faith…the word, the meaning definitely encompasses all of us.

We are all addicts.

Addiction…compulsive need…an abnormally strong craving…physiological and psychological dependence…when it is physiological dependence, we take it seriously, we have lots of organisations working for it…trying to make people aware about its consequences.

But what about psychological dependence on someone, something…doesn’t it come under the realm of addiction? I mean, I know that man is a social animal but at the same time, man is a rational animal too.

You can surely understand the difference between being fond of someone and being addicted to someone, you’re not necessarily possessive but (a huge one) when you are addicted, you are all possessive, insecure and interfering instead of caring… look around, I am sure you’ll notice many such things.

As everyone knows, we are almost disabled without internet, television, radio, mobile phones and yes, books… I won’t dare say that I am not at all affected, like all of us, even I get restless when my mobile phone stops working and I can’t watch my favourite programme on TV due to the shortage of electricity. I get irritated when my internet connection fails to work; surely, I treat my laptop as if its my baby.

Reading is surely an addiction, though a good one, ask an avid reader about it. It’s like the book becomes your world, you are lost in it. The world around you doesn’t matter.

Well, to conclude I would say that addiction is anything and everything that exceeds the limit, be it good or bad! 

I think

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

learn with uma

“The whole of life, from the moment you are born to the moment you die, is a process of learning."

The lost lady

A blog about finding yourself

Lifestyled Islander

Creating Travelling Inspiring Living and Writing about it all

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Defying Shadows

You are not alone. You are special. You are loved.

helen meikle's scribblefest

writer editor proofreader

chanyado

Chanyado. Shade. Respite from the sun. A place under the tree to rest my head, and wiggle my toes out in the sun.

Make It Happen

Ishani Sawant: Mountain Athlete, Adventurer, Travel Blogger:

The INFJ Coach

You Have the Right to Be Yourself

The Transformers

Changing ourselves, to change the world

Thoughts and Musings

Trying to Connect the Dots

Life of A Fallen Angel

Clarity through flight...

Chaos for Peace

It’s the chaos on the outside and inside, for the peace within and around.

