Dishing it out: Perhaps Molly Weasley had it easy!

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Those Dishes Won’t Do Themselves.”

 “Don’t do the dishes…don’t steal my work!!”

I remember the startled look on my friend’s face.

I love doing the dishes,  love the smell of liquid dishwasher ( preferably Lemon), the sound of tap water in the background, the rough texture of the scrub. Watching the utensils return to their shiny squeaky clean form… it is like therapy. It is my personal stress buster. I will happily volunteer to do the dishes.  I love doing the laundry. Again, seeing the fresh clean clothes hanging in the drying area is immensely satisfying. It is a fairly mechanical job. I can turn on the music, play my favourite playlist, plug-in the speakers and yeah, I earned myself a cleaning party.

Well, I don’t mind doing most of the household chores. If my life was dependent on it, I would probably organise the kitchen and clean the refrigerator too. I don’t mind buying groceries  and cleaning the bathroom either. Ironing does annoy me though. Control freak that I am, I really don’t like my clothes going out of the house to the laundry guy. (Crazy, huh?) What if he burns my favourite piece or misplaced the one I love the most? So I am doomed to do the ironing by myself and I lack the patience to wait for that one crease to smooth over. Solution: Stop wearing ironed clothes and pretend that you don’t like having them ironed.

Cooking? Why do we have to eat? Why cannot we take the necessary supplements and survive? I can barely cook to survive. I can feel my stress levels elevate as I step in the kitchen with the intention to cook something other than rice-dal. God bless the woman who comes to cook everyday.

Remember that scene in Harry Potter, where Molly Weasley is just waving her wand and all the household chores are done…that’s magic!

2 thoughts on “Dishing it out: Perhaps Molly Weasley had it easy!

Add yours

  1. Reblogged this on Shamim Kelly and commented:
    Gggggggggggggggggggggggmnmngggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggyttttttttgggttggggggtggggtyttyttttttyttttttttttttttttttttttttttttyttttttttttttttyttttyttttttttgttttttttttttttttttttttttttyyyyttytttttttyyytyggggfz

    Like

I think

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

learn with uma

“The whole of life, from the moment you are born to the moment you die, is a process of learning."

The lost lady

A blog about finding yourself

Lifestyled Islander

Creating Travelling Inspiring Living and Writing about it all

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Defying Shadows

You are not alone. You are special. You are loved.

helen meikle's scribblefest

writer editor proofreader

chanyado

Chanyado. Shade. Respite from the sun. A place under the tree to rest my head, and wiggle my toes out in the sun.

Make It Happen

Ishani Sawant: Mountain Athlete, Adventurer, Travel Blogger:

The INFJ Coach

You Have the Right to Be Yourself

The Transformers

Changing ourselves, to change the world

Thoughts and Musings

Trying to Connect the Dots

Life of A Fallen Angel

Clarity through flight...

Chaos for Peace

It’s the chaos on the outside and inside, for the peace within and around.

