Daily Prompt-Worldly Encounters: “Poetry is written with tears, fiction with blood, and history with invisible ink.”

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Worldly Encounters.”

The friendly, English-speaking extraterrestrial you run into outside your house is asking you to recommend the one book, movie, or song that explains what humans are all about. What do you pick?

Dear ET,
I am happy to hear that you want to know us the humans, when in fact, we barely understand ourselves. I cannot pick one single book that you can use to understand humanity. It is more of an experience if you ask me, however, I would recommend this book named “The Angel’s Game” by Carlos Ruiz Zafon.

I won’t give away the story because I would want you to experience it yourself. One of the reasons I like this book is that I can identify with one of the characters Isabelita Gispert, and the other is that I love the quotes. I simply love the way it is written by the author. I love the complexity and the philosophy in it.

  • “Poetry is written with tears, fiction with blood, and history with invisible ink.”
  • “We spend a good part of our lives dreaming, especially when we’re awake.”
  •  “Nothing important is learned; it is simply remembered.”
  • “I turned you into a stranger in order to forget you and now I’m the stranger.”
  • “It seems that in the advanced stages of stupidity, a lack of ideas is compensated for by an excess of ideologies.”
  • “I think you judge yourself too severely, a quality that always distinguishes people of true worth.”
  • “It’s the student who makes the teacher, not the other way around.”
  • “Everything is a tale, Martin. What we believe, what we know, what we remember, even what we dream. Everything is a story, a narrative, a sequence of events with characters communicating an emotional content. We only accept as true what can be narrated.”
  • “Whether we realise it or not, most of us define ourselves by opposing rather than by favouring something or someone. To put it another way, it is easier to react than to act.”
  • “One is never wholly conscious of the greed hidden in one’s heart until one hears the sweet sound of silver.”
  • “One can convert only a sinner, never a saint.”
  • “You end up becoming what you see in the eyes of those you love.”
  • “A Gentleman’s agreement cannot be broken without breaking the person who has entered into it.”
  • “Inspiration comes when you stick your elbows on the table, your bottom on the chair and you start sweating. Choose a theme, an idea, and squeeze your brain until it hurts. That’s called inspiration.”
  • “Perhaps part of your problem is that you’ve been reading the commentators and not the people they were commenting on. A common mistake but fatal when you’re trying to learn something.”
  • “All business opportunities stem from someone else’s inability to resolve a simple and inevitable problem.”
  • “Do you know the best thing about broken hearts?’ the librarian asked.
    I shook my head.
    ‘They can only break once. The rest is just scratches.”

There is this poem that I love. Fire and Ice by Robert Frost. I think it sums up humanity and life on Earth very well.

Some say the world will end in fire,
Some say in ice.
From what I’ve tasted of desire
I hold with those who favor fire.
But if it had to perish twice,
I think I know enough of hate
To say that for destruction ice
Is also great
And would suffice.

One of the songs that I think explains humanity well is Demons by Imagine Dragons.
Lyrics

“I wanna hide the truth
I wanna shelter you
But with the beast inside
There’s nowhere we can hide

Your eyes, they shine so bright
I wanna save that light
I can’t escape this now
Unless you show me how”

It may seem like I am focusing too much on the negative side of the human nature and the reason is….

Dear ET, just know that we all want to be loved! It is really that simple.

I think

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

learn with uma

“The whole of life, from the moment you are born to the moment you die, is a process of learning."

The lost lady

A blog about finding yourself

Lifestyled Islander

Creating Travelling Inspiring Living and Writing about it all

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Defying Shadows

You are not alone. You are special. You are loved.

helen meikle's scribblefest

writer editor proofreader

chanyado

Chanyado. Shade. Respite from the sun. A place under the tree to rest my head, and wiggle my toes out in the sun.

Make It Happen

Ishani Sawant: Mountain Athlete, Adventurer, Travel Blogger:

The INFJ Coach

You Have the Right to Be Yourself

The Transformers

Changing ourselves, to change the world

Thoughts and Musings

Trying to Connect the Dots

Life of A Fallen Angel

Clarity through flight...

Chaos for Peace

It’s the chaos on the outside and inside, for the peace within and around.

